79th Plenary Meeting

06 December 2021 - 09 December 2021 , Virtual Platform

Fortifying the Cotton Supply Chain: New Approaches to New Challenges
 
 
DIRECTORY 2021
PROCCEDINGS – English, French
 
 
On Free Access: Cotton: Review of the World Situtation, September issue (Arabic; English; French; RussianSpanish) – The ICAC RECORDER, September issue (English; French) – Production and Trade Subsidies Affecting the Cotton Industry (English; French; Spanish
Paid Access (Please use Google Chrome to order. Members and subscribers can access with their password): ICAC Cotton Data Book (English) – World Cotton Statsitsics (English) – World Cotton Trade (English) – World Texttile Demand (English)
 
   
 
Monday 6 December 2021
Videos of the Sessions: English; Arabic; French; Russian; Spanish
 
Inaugural Plenary Session
8:00 – 9:40 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 09:00 pm – 10:40 pm; Europe: 13:00 – 14:40 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Anshul Sharma, Chairman of the ICAC Standing Committee. India
Minutes

Approval of the Agenda of the 79th Plenary Meeting

• Report of the Chairman of the Standing Committee
Mr Anshul Sharma, Counsellor (Economic), Embassy of India
Biography
Report (English, Arabic, French, Russian, Spanish)
 
• Report of the Executive Director
Mr Kai Hughes, Executive Director of ICAC
Biography
Report (English, Arabic, French, Russian, Spanish)
 
• Recognition of the ICAC Researchers of the Year, 2020 and 2021 and Presentations.  

Dr K. Raja Reddy – ICAC Researcher of the Year 2020
Biography 
Presentation

Dr Bruce Tabashnik – ICAC Researcher of the Year 2021
Biography 
Presentation

Dr Jonathan F. Wendel – ICAC Researcher of the Year 2021
Biography 
Presentation

 
• Speeches from the ICAC Panels and Committees
Private Sector Advisory Council – PSAC
Mr Peter Wakefield, Chairman of the PSAP
Biography

International Cotton Researchers Association – ICRA
Dr Mohamed Negm, Chairman of ICRA
Biography
 
 
Reports from the ICAC Secretariat
9:45 – 11:15 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 10:45 pm – 00:15 pm; Europe: 14:45 – 16:15 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Anshul Sharma, Chairman of the ICAC Standing Committee, India
Minutes

• World Cotton Market Outlook
Mr Matthew Looney, Data Scientist, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
• World Cotton Trade
Ms Parkhi Vats, Commodity Trade Analyst, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
• Global Textile Fibres Demand: Trends and Forecast
Ms Lorena Ruiz, Economist, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
• Textiles – Global Challenges and ICAC
Mr Usman Kanwar, Head of Textiles and Innovation, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
• Production and Trade Subsidies Affecting the Cotton Industry
Ms Lorena Ruiz, Economist, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
• ICAC Cotton Data Book
Dr Keshav Kranthi, Chief Scientist, ICAC
Biography
Presentation
 
Tuesday 7 December 2021
Videos of the Sessions: English; Arabic; French; Russian; Spanish
 
First Open Session: Fortifying the Cotton Supply Chain
Presentations and Discussions
8:00 – 09:50 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 09:00 pm – 10:50 pm; Europe: 13:00 – 14:50 (GMT)
Chairman: Dr Adama Coulibaly, General Director of Cotton and Cashew Council, Côte d'Ivoire
Minutes

• What is Sustainable Cotton? 
Dr Kater Hake, Vice President, Agricultural & Environmental Research Cotton Incorporated, USA
Biography
Presentation
 
• The Integrity of Organic Cotton
Mrs La Rhea Pepper, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Textile Exchange
Biography
Presentation
 
• Challenges in the Sustainable Cotton Supply Chain
Mr Anupam Gupta
Biography
Presentation
 
 
Second Open Session: Labelling – What is the real story about my T-shirt?
Presentations and Discussions
10:00 –12:00 pm (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 11:00 pm – 01:00 am; Europe: 15:00 – 17:00 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Azeez Syed, International Cotton Association – ICA
Minutes

• Data Driven Labelling: Limitations and Opportunities
Dr Jesse Daystar, Chief Sustainability Officer and Vice President of Sustainability, Cotton Incorporated
Biography
Presentation
   
• Do We Know Enough About Apparel and Sustainability to Develop a Simple, Trustworthy, Equitable and Science-based Labelling System?
Ms Ingun Grimstad Klepp, Professor, Oslo Metropolitan University
Biography
Presentation
   
• Product Labels and Due Diligence
Ms Dorothy Lovell, Policy Advisor in the Responsible Business Conduct team, OECD
Biography
Presentation
• Biodiverse, Local and Verified: Country Road’s Approach to Cotton
Ms Fabia Pryor, Brand Community and Impact Manager at Country Road
Biography
Presentation

• Future Positive Knitwear. Reconnecting Consumer Through Technology
Mr Michael Wessely, Co-Founder of Sheep Inc.
Biography
Presentation

• Consumer Engagement:Greenwashing or Education?  The Truth in a Label
Mrs La Rhea Pepper, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Textile Exchange
Biography
Presentation
 
 
Wednesday 8 December 2021
Videos of the Sessions: English; Arabic; French; Russian; Spanish
 
Open Technical Session: Advances and Challenges of Hybrid Cotton Technology
8:00 – 10:00 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 09:00 pm – 11:00 pm; Europe: 13:00 – 15:00 (GMT)
Chairman: Dr Talpur, Vice President, Pakistan Central Cotton Committee, Pakistan
Minutes
 
• The Hybrid Cotton Revolution in India
Dr M. Ramasami, Chairman of Rasi Seeds
Biography
Presentation
 
• The Future of Organic cotton, GM Cotton and Hybrid Cotton
Dr Yusuf Zafar, T.I, Former Chairman of Pakistan Agricultural Research Council (PARC), Islamabad
Biography
Presentation
 
Bt Varieties for Increasing Cotton Yields under Rainfed Ecosystem in India
Dr H. B. Santosh, Scientist (Plant Breeding), ICAR-CICR, Nagpur, India
Biography
Presentation
 
• Will Hybrid Cotton be Suitable for Rainfed Africa?
Prof. Andrew P. Gutierrez, Professor Emeritus IX+, Division of Ecosystem Science at the University of California at Berkeley. 
CEO - NGO Center for the Analysis of Sustainable Agricultural Systems
Biography
Presentation
 
• Discussion of the Working Paper 2 for the title of the 2022 Technical Seminar
 
 
World Café: Challenges and Opportunities for Sustainability
Report of the Groups Discussions 
10:10 – 11:10 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 11:10 pm – 00:10 am; Europe: 15:10 – 16:10 (GMT)
Chairman: Mike McCue, Director of Communications, ICAC
Minutes
 
• Introductory Remarks
Mr Mike McCue, Director of Communications, ICAC
Biography

 
• Presentations by the Regions Leaders and Discussion
 
Closing Plenary Session
11:10 – 11:20 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 00:10 am – 01:20 am; Europe: 16:10 – 17:20 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Anshul Sharma, Chairman of the ICAC Standing Committee, India
Minutes

• Closing comments by the ICAC (Kai Hughes, ICAC Executive Director)
• Closing Remarks by the Chair (Anshul Sharma, Chair of the Standing Committee)
 
Thursday 9 December 2021
 
Meeting of the Drafting Group (Members only)
8:00 – 10:30 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 09:00 pm – 11:30 pm; Europe: 13:00 – 15:30 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Patrick Packnett, Deputy Administrator, Global Market Analysis – USDA, USA
Statement of the ICAC 79th PLenary Meeting (English; Arabic; French; Russian; Spanish)
 
Meeting of the Steering Committee (Members only)
10:40 – 11:10 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 11:40 pm – 00:10 am; Europe: 15:40 – 16:10 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Anshul Sharma, Chairman of the ICAC Standing Committee, India
Minutes
 
1. Adoption of the Agenda
2. Election of the Standing Committee Officers – Working Paper 1 (English, Arabic, French, Russian, Spanish)
3. Topic of the Technical Seminar for 2022 – Working Paper 2 (English, Arabic, French, Russian, Spanish)
4. Strategy Away Day – Working Paper 3 (English, Arabic, French, Russian, Spanish)
5. Uncollected Assessments of  the ICAC Members – Working Paper 4
6. Renewal of the Executive Director Contract
 
Closing Plenary Session with Members only 
11:10 – 11:40 am (GMT-5); Australia (Perth, AW): 00:10 am – 00:40 am; Europe: 16:10 – 16:40 (GMT)
Chairman: Mr Anshul Sharma, Chairman of the ICAC Standing Committee, India
Minutes

• Closing Remarks by the Chair (Anshul Sharma, Chair of the Standing Committee)